Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


Park Tightens Year-End Race

Who won

Inbee Park won her fifth tournament of the year on the LPGA Tour, shooting a final-round 64 to capture the Lorena Ochoa Invitational on Sunday. As a result, Park pulled almost dead even with Lydia Ko for Player of the Year honors going into the tour’s final event of the year this week. Park posted a 72-hole total of 18-under 270 at Club de Golf Mexico in Mexico City, good enough for a three-shot victory.

Who didn’t win

Carlota Ciganda of Spain was looking for her first LPGA Tour win and got within one shot of Park on the back nine before falling away at the end. Ciganda shot a 9-under 63 in the final round to post 15-under 273. Sei Young Kim of South Korea, who already has wrapped up the Rookie of the Year, was third at 13 under with a final-round 66. So Yeon Ryu of South Korea was two shots further back after a Sunday 67. Sakura Yokomine of Japan was fifth at 9 under.

How it happened

Park took the first-round lead with a 4-under 68 and was in a four-way tie for second at 5 under after Minjee Lee shot a pair of 69s to take the halfway lead. Park took 25 putts in her third-round 67, which left her with a three-shot lead. Ciganda shot 6-under 30 on the front nine Sunday to pull within one shot of Park. The pair matched birdies at the 10th and 11th and the margin remained one until the par-3 16th, when Ciganda missed the green and made a critical bogey to fall two back. They matched birdies at the 17th and Park made a birdie at the 18th for the final margin.


Recent Posts