Players Divided on Rules ‘Tweak’ for Rory

Rory McIlroy

DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES | As Rory McIlroy and Andy Sullivan set out on the final lap of the DP World Tour Championship, the argument was still raging as to whether McIlroy, on 15 under to Sullivan’s 16 under, should have been playing at all. True, he had been injured and then ill but the fact of the matter was that European Tour rules had been broken to allow him to compete when he was a tournament short of the regulation 13 needed to be eligible.

Lee Slattery, who had rounds of 76, 71, 68 and 65 in a week when he had otherwise spent most of the time in bed with flu, wasted no time in mentioning the effect the issue could have on Sullivan.


“If (Sullivan) were to win today, he would have won four times across the season and yet he’s not going to get what he should have done out of it.

 

Comments

Recent Posts