Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


Concession Cup Teams Announced

Bradenton, Florida | Officials from The Concession Cup announced today the selection of competitors for the two eight-man Mid-Am (age 25 to 54) teams and the two two-man Super Senior (age 65 and older) teams from the United States and Great Britain & Ireland. With today’s announcement the teams are now set for the inaugural Concession Cup, to begin April 28 at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla.

As previously announced, Vinny Giles and Garth McGimpsey will serve as captains for the United States and Great Britain & Ireland respectively. Together, Giles and McGimpsey bring more than 80 years of competitive experience to the amateur team match-play competition.

The U.S. Mid-Am team will include Gene Elliott (Iowa), Scott Harvey (North Carolina), Tim Jackson (Tennessee), Trip Kuehne (Texas), Mike McCoy (Iowa), Gary Nicklaus (Florida), Nathan Smith (Pennsylvania) and Todd White (South Carolina). The Super Senior team will include Jim Holtgrieve (Missouri) and Robert Lewis (Ohio).

The GB&I Mid-Am team will include James Bunch (Scotland), Matthew Clark (Scotland), Robbie Cannon (Ireland), Harry Diamond (Ireland), Eoghan O’Connell (Ireland), Edward Richardson (England), Ben Westgate (Wales) and Martin Young (England). The Super Senior team will include Ian Hutcheon (Scotland) and Peter Hedges (England).

The Mid-Am and Super Senior teams will join previously announced eight-man Senior teams (55 and older) in a three-day competition that includes traditional team match-play formats of foursomes, four-ball and singles.

In addition to the focus on amateur golf and charities, the biennial event will feature a number of the greats in the game. Lending their names to the event and committed to attend the opening celebration are Jack Nicklaus and Tony Jacklin (honorary captains), Paul Azinger (honorary chairman) and Gary Koch (opening celebration MC and host).


Recent Posts