The U.S. overcame the largest deficit (10-6) in Solheim Cup history to beat Europe for the first time since 2009.
Gerina Piller made a crucial putt on the 18th green to win her match against Caroline Masson, which was one of several key moments that spurred the U.S. Team to a narrow victory, 14.5 to 13.5. A Piller miss would have given Europe the win.
The U.S. won eight of the final 12 single matches, including the final five. Several timely performances came courtesy of Morgan Pressel (2 Up over Catriona Matthew), Alison Lee (3&1 over Gwladys Nocera), and Angela Stanford (2&1 over Suzann Pettersen).
There was controversy earlier in the day as Lee and Brittany Lincicome came out to complete their four-ball match against Pettersen and Charley Hull. With the match all square on the 17th green, Lee missed an 8-foot birdie putt, sliding it 18 inches past the hole. As the European side walked off the green, Lee picked up the ball figuring the short putt was conceded. Pettersen then went to a rules official contending that they had not conceded the putt. The result was a 1 Up lead heading to the 18th hole, which resulted in a 10-6 European lead heading into the singles.
Many players and fans alike had a strong reaction to the scene, heading to Twitter to voice their dismay:
— Zach Johnson (@ZachJohnsonPGA) September 20, 2015
Team Europe should have never walked away. Alison should have never picked up putt. Mistake on both parties. Europe can take the free win.
— Ryann O'Toole (@RyannOToole) September 20, 2015
— Pablo Larrazabal (@plarrazabal) September 20, 2015
— Alison Lee (@alisonlee) September 20, 2015