In a bizarre situation, Phil Mickelson and Zach Johnson lost two holes in one against Adam Scott and Jason Day during the Friday fourball session of the Presidents Cup.
The pairing of Mickelson and Johnson was all square with Scott and Day through 6 holes when they arrived at the seventh hole. Mickelson switched to a different type of Callaway ball on the hole, an infraction that automatically adds a one-hole victory to the opposition regardless of the result on the hole. The one ball rule does not apply during foursomes, which was played yesterday, but does apply during fourball.
Once the mistake was noted, Mickelson was told he was disqualified from the hole and picked up his ball, leaving Johnson on his own. However, that information was incorrect. The one-hole penalty was going to be enforced regardless of the outcome, so Mickelson could have continued playing.
Day and Scott won the hole, giving them a 2 Up lead (winning the hole plus the additional penalty) heading to the 8th tee.
Many weighed in on the unusual situation:
I've never heard of a team going from even to two down in one hole. I just realized it's possible to lose an 18 hole match 14-11.#whoknew
— brandel chamblee (@chambleebrandel) October 9, 2015
— Keegan Bradley (@Keegan_Bradley) October 9, 2015
Here's rule for PhIl Mickelson one ball breach. Worst part of it? PM could have finished playing the hole. pic.twitter.com/S2lmTzL6fz
— Jim Ragland (@jimraglandgolf) October 9, 2015
There's basically no way that Phil ruling is correct
— Ryan Ballengee (@RyanBallengee) October 9, 2015