Blair Whacks Himself In Head With Putter, Gets DQ’d

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports/Reuters. Picture Supplied by Action Images.

There are many ways to get disqualified, but this may be one of the more physically painful.

After missing a birdie putt on the par-5 fifth hole at the Wells Fargo Championship, Zac Blair hit himself in the head with his putter and bent it. He proceeded to putt out for a par and played the next hole before realizing he had violated Rule 4-3b for using a non-conforming club. 


The 25-year-old out of BYU was 7-over for the event and likely to miss the cut, although he had made four consecutive cuts prior to coming to Charlotte. He issued a statement via Twitter:

Blair showed a good sense of humor by tweeting this gif of Woody Austin performing a similar action in 1997 at Hilton Head.

Comments

Recent Posts