Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


Jon Rahm Becomes First Two-Time Winner of Ben Hogan Award

Jon Rahm of Spain

Jon Rahm, a senior at Arizona State University, became the first two-time winner of the Ben Hogan Award Monday night at a black-tie banquet hosted at Colonial Country Club, the site of this week’s PGA Tour Dean & DeLuca Invitational.

The 21 year-old from Barrika, Spain, won the award, which is presented annually to the top men’s college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the 12-month period dating from the previous award’s banquet, over fellow finalists Maverick McNealy, a junior at Stanford University, and Beau Hossler, a junior at the University of Texas.

“To be the first guy to repeat makes it a magical night,” Rahm said in his speech. “Just to know there has never been a two-time winner and for it to turn out to be someone like me, from a small town in Spain, to be the first one to do such a thing is definitely very important and very special.”

Rahm is currently the No. 1 player in the World Amateur Golf Ranking after he won the Spanish Amateur, advanced to the quarterfinals of the U.S. Amateur and final eight at the European Amateur Team Championship in 2015. He was also a member of Team Europe at the 2015 Palmer Cup, and was the winner of the 2015 Mark H. McCormack Medal. As a collegiate golfer, he won four times during the 2015-16 season, including the Pac-12 Championship and the NCAA Albuquerque Regional. Plus, he finished inside the top 10 in all 12 starts for the Sun Devils this season. 

He also played in the PGA Tour’s OHL at Mayakoba Classic in November, where he finished tied for 10th – his second career top 10 on the PGA Tour. 

By winning the Ben Hogan Award, Rahm has earned both an exception into the PGA Tour’s 2017 Dean & DeLuca Invitational, as well as a $30,000 grant for Arizona State men’s golf program.


Recent Posts