Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


Jim Furyk Named Payne Stewart Award Recipient

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports/Reuters. Picture Supplied by Action Images.

Just two days after shooting the lowest score in PGA Tour history, Jim Furyk has earned yet another honor by being named the Payne Stewart Award recipient.

The Payne Stewart Award is presented annually to a professional golfer who best exemplifies Stewart’s steadfast values of character, charity and sportsmanship. Furyk, a 17-time PGA Tour winner and the 2003 U.S. Open champion, will be honored on the Tuesday of the Tour Championship in Atlanta.

“I am incredibly honored to receive the Payne Stewart Award,” said Furyk. “I was fortunate enough to know Payne as a colleague and friend, and I always admired the character and spirit he brought to the game of golf. The Payne Stewart award is an important part of the Tour’s efforts to honor Payne’s legacy. Knowing my name will be forever linked to him through this honor is extremely humbling, and I am very grateful.”


Recent Posts