Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


Vicki Goetze-Ackerman to Join AJGA Board of Directors

Vicki Goetze-Ackerman, one of the most accomplished junior golfers in the history of the American Junior Golf Association and the LPGA Player President since 2012, will join the AJGA’s Board of Directors after being elected at the annual Membership Meeting on Nov. 19 at the Polo Golf Junior Classic.

“We are pleased to welcome Vicki Goetze-Ackerman to our Board of Directors,” said Executive Director Stephen Hamblin. “With 15 wins, Vicki was one of the most successful junior golfers in the AJGA’s history. We look forward to what her experience on the LPGA Tour Executive Committee will bring to our Board of Directors.”

Led by AJGA Chairman of the Board J.R. “Digger” Smith, the AJGA’s Association and Foundation Board of Directors is composed of golf industry professionals, including representatives with PGA TOUR, LPGA and USGA experience, and business leaders.

Even today, Goetze-Ackerman holds many AJGA records that stand the test of time. Goetze-Ackerman was named Rolex Junior Player of the Year three times from 1988 to 1990, joining Phil Mickelson as the only two golfers to win the award three times in the AJGA’s 39-year history. The 15-time AJGA champion won the Polo Golf Junior Classic twice and was named a Rolex Junior All-American eight times, two more than any other golfer in history.

“I was extremely honored to have been asked to serve on the AJGA Board of Directors,” said Goetze-Ackerman. “It is great to have an opportunity to give back to junior golf and a game that has been so good to me.”

Following her junior career, Goetze-Ackerman competed on the University of Georgia women’s golf team and went on to represent the United States in two Curtis Cup appearances. She captured two U.S. Women’s Amateur titles and earned individual medalist honors at the NCAA Championship in 1992.

Goetze-Ackerman competed for 16 years as an active member of the LPGA Tour. She served on the LPGA Tour Executive Committee and Board of Directors from 2005 to 2007 and was president of the Association in 2007. In 2006, she was honored with the William and Mousie Powell Award, as the player whose behavior and deeds best exemplifies the spirit, ideals and values of the LPGA.


Recent Posts