Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


QUICK TAKE: One Of Golf’s Deepest Fields Set For Players

Only two of the top 50 players in the world will be absent from this year's Players Championship. (Photo Credit: Jason Getz, Action Images)

As is normally the case, the Players Championship will boast one of golf’s strongest fields once again this year.

The field will feature 147 players, the most contestants at the tournament since 2004, and 48 of the world’s top 50 ready to battle Pete Dye’s newly tweaked design. Brandt Snedeker (wrist injury) and Thomas Pieters (unspecified) are the two top-50 players not teeing it up at TPC Sawgrass.

Several others have qualified for the event but will not be playing. Jon Curran (rib injury), Colt Knost (wrist injury), John Senden (personal issue) and Tiger Woods (back injury) will not participate.

Like other majors, the Players Championship has specific criteria on who can play that causes some moving and shaking in the weeks leading up to the event. Cameron Smith won the Zurich Classic to play his way in, while Lee Westwood gained entry by moving into the world’s top 50 on May 1, even though he didn’t compete the preceding week.without playing last week.

Other unique entries include Constellation Senior Players Championship winner Bernhard Langer and 2016 Tour money list winner Grayson Murray.

Perhaps no two players are more surprised to be in the field than Ian Poulter and Brian Gay. Both Poulter and Gay thought they fell short of being fully exempt on the PGA Tour after needing to earn a certain amount of money or FedEx Cup points via major medical extensions. However, Gay crunched some numbers and noticed a discrepancy in how points were handed out last season compared to this season, leading to both players earning full-time exemptions and berths into the Players Championship.

Below is a list of those playing this week:

Tournament Winners in the Past Year

Aaron Baddeley

Daniel Berger

Jonas Blixt

Wesley Bryan

Greg Chalmers

Kevin Chappell

Rickie Fowler

Sergio García

Cody Gribble

Adam Hadwin

Russell Henley

Mackenzie Hughes

Billy Hurley III

Dustin Johnson

Si Woo Kim

Russell Knox

Marc Leishman

Hideki Matsuyama

William McGirt

Rory McIlroy

Ryan Moore

Rod Pampling

Pat Perez

D.A. Points

Jon Rahm

Patrick Reed

Cameron Smith

Jordan Spieth

Brendan Steele

Henrik Stenson

Hudson Swafford

Justin Thomas

Jhonattan Vegas

Jimmy Walker

Gold Medal Winner of the Men’s Golf Competition – 2016 Olympics

Justin Rose

Top 125 on Prior Season’s FedExCup Points List

Adam Scott

Paul Casey

Jason Day

Emiliano Grillo

Phil Mickelson

Matt Kuchar

Jason Dufner

Gary Woodland

Bubba Watson

Roberto Castro

Kevin Kisner

Charl Schwartzel

Sean O’Hair

Kevin Na

J.B. Holmes

Jason Kokrak

Ryan Palmer

Brooks Koepka

Scott Piercy

Louis Oosthuizen

James Hahn

Fabian Gomez

Branden Grace

Jim Herman

Smylie Kaufman

Charley Hoffman

Tony Finau

Bill Haas

Harris English

Graeme McDowell

Jamie Lovemark

Billy Horschel

Charles Howell III

Brian Harman

Chris Kirk

David Hearn

Zach Johnson

Luke Donald

Kevin Streelman

Brian Stuard

Kyle Reifers

Vaughn Taylor

Daniel Summerhays

David Lingmerth

Ben Martin

Ricky Barnes

Jerry Kelly

Chad Campbell

Patrick Rodgers

Harold Varner III

Steve Stricker

Martin Laird

Johnson Wagner

Scott Brown

Chez Reavie

Patton Kizzire

Alex Čejka

Webb Simpson

Jim Furyk

Bryce Molder

Freddie Jacobson

K.J. Choi

Danny Lee

Danny Willett

Spencer Levin

John Huh

Sung Kang

Jason Bohn

Tyrone Van Aswegen

Vijay Singh

Derek Fathauer

Blayne Barber

Shane Lowry

Keegan Bradley

Peter Malnati

Robert Streb

Lucas Glover

Brett Stegmaier

Robert Garrigus

Zac Blair

Francesco Molinari

Cameron Tringale

Andrew Loupe

Boo Weekley

Mark Hubbard

Kyle Stanley

Ben Crane

Michael Kim

Anirban Lahiri

Graham DeLaet

Troy Merritt

Luke List

Shawn Stefani

David Toms

Seung-Yul Noh

Top 125 (Medical)

Patrick Cantlay

Brian Gay

Ian Poulter

Winner – THE PLAYERS Championship (last 5 years)

Martin Kaymer

Winner – The Open Championship (last 5 years)

Ernie Els

Winners of the Arnold Palmer Inv. & the Memorial (Last 3 Years)

Matt Every

Top 50 – World Golf Ranking

Alex Norén

Tyrrell Hatton

Tommy Fleetwood

Bernd Wiesberger

Rafa Cabrera Bello

Matthew Fitzpatrick

Ross Fisher

Yuta Ikeda

Lee Westwood

Winner – Constellation SENIOR PLAYERS Championship – Prior Year

Bernhard Langer

Leading Money Winner from Tour Prior Year

Grayson Murray


Recent Posts