Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


NEWS: Maverick McNealy Wins Ben Hogan Award

By earning the Ben Hogan Award, Maverick McNealy has been invited to play in the 2018 Dean & Deluca Invitational at Colonial Country Club (Photo Credit: Ben Hogan Award)

Stanford University senior Maverick McNealy became the sixth player in a row from the Pac-12 conference to win the Ben Hogan Award for being the most outstanding male collegiate and amateur golfer of the year.

The Portola Valley, Calif., native has enjoyed a prolific career for the Cardinal and won the 2016 Mark H. McCormack Medal for being No. 1 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. McNealy, a three-time finalist for the award, has 11 collegiate victories, tying him with Tiger Woods and Patrick Rodgers for the most in school history.

Oregon senior Wyndham Clark and Illinois junior Dylan Meyer were also finalists for the award.

The 21-year-old McNealy has not announced whether he will play professional golf or go into another career while maintaining his amateur status. It would be a unique development for him to remain an amateur, given the professional success of recent Ben Hogan Award winners, such as Jon Rahm (2015, 2016),  Rodgers (2014), Patrick Cantlay (2012), Kyle Stanley (2009), Rickie Fowler (2008), Ryan Moore (2005), Bill Haas (2004), Hunter Mahan (2003) and others.

McNealy finished third at the NCAA Stanford Regional this past week, helping his team reach next week’s national championship at Rich Harvest Farms outside Chicago, where 30 teams will vie for the title.  


Recent Posts