Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


NEWS: Grillo, An Late Additions to U.S. Open Field

Byeong An earned a ticket to the U.S. Open after a strong performance in the Memorial Tournament. (Photo: Aaron Doster, USA Today Sports)

U.S. Open week is upon us and the 156-man field is officially set to take on Shinnecock Hills.

Six players were uncertain of their fate until today, when the USGA announced the finishing touches to the field. Emiliano Grillo and Byeong An earned their spot by being in the top 60 in the world rankings, while four other spots went to alternates from sectional qualifying. Ryan Evans, Rikuyo Hoshino, Scott Piercy and Ted Potter Jr. all have themselves a tee time.

There will be some heavily anticipated groupings come Thursday. World No. 1 Dustin Johnson will go off with No. 2 Justin Thomas and Tiger Woods, while Rory McIlroy will play with Jordan Spieth and Phil Mickelson.


Below is a list of all the players in the field and how they qualified:

Winners of the U.S. Open last 10 years:

Lucas Glover

Dustin Johnson

Martin Kaymer

Brooks Koepka

Graeme McDowell

Rory McIlroy

Justin Rose

Webb Simpson

Jordan Spieth

Tiger Woods


Runner-up of 2017 U.S. Amateur:

a-Doug Ghim


Winner of the 2017 British Amateur Championship:

a-Harry Ellis


Winners of the Masters Tournament the last five years:

Sergio Garcia

Bubba Watson

Danny Willett

Patrick Reed


Winners of The Open Championship the last five years:

Zach Johnson

Phil Mickelson

Henrik Stenson


Winners of the PGA Championship the last five years:

Jason Day

Jason Dufner

Justin Thomas

Jimmy Walker


Winners of the Players Championship the last three years:

Si Woo Kim


Winner of the 2017 U.S. Senior Open:

Kenny Perry


Winner of the BMW PGA Champion:

Francesco Molinari


From the 2017 U.S. Open, top 10 and ties:

Tommy Fleetwood

Rickie Fowler

Bill Haas

Brian Harman

Charley Hoffman

Hideki Matsuyama

Trey Mullinax

Xander Schauffele

Brandt Snedeker


Players qualifying for the 2017 Tour Championship:

Daniel Berger

Patrick Cantlay

Paul Casey

Kevin Chappell

Tony Finau

Adam Hadwin

Russell Henley

Kevin Kisner

Matt Kuchar

Marc Leishman

Pat Perez

Jon Rahm

Kyle Stanley

Jhonattan Vegas

Gary Woodland


Winner of the 2017 U.S. Junior Amateur:

a-Noah Goodwin


Winner of the 2017 U.S. Mid-Amateur:

a-Matt Parziale


Top 60 from Official World Golf Ranking on May 21:

Kiradech Aphibarnrat

Rafa Cabrera Bello

Bryson DeChambeau

Ross Fisher

Matt Fitzpatrick

Dylan Frittelli

Branden Grace

Chesson Hadley

Tyrrell Hatton

Charles Howell III

Satoshi Kodaira

Alexander Levy

Haotong Li

Luke List

Alex Noren

Louis Oosthuizen

Ian Poulter

Chez Reavie

Charl Schwartzel

Cameron Smith

Brendan Steele

Peter Uihlein


Top 60 from Official World Golf Ranking on June 11:

Emiliano Grillo

Byeong An


Sectional qualifying:

Shota Akiyoshi

Eric Axley

Aaron Baddeley

a-Shinatro Ban

a-Philip Barbaree

a-Jacob Bergeron

Keegan Bradley

David Bransdon

Dean Burmester

Sam Burns

Roberto Castro

Tyler Duncan

Ryan Fox

Brian Gay

Scott Gregory

Lanto Griffin

a-Stewart Hagestad

Lucas Herbert

Mackenzie Hughes

a-Theo Humphrey

Sungjae Im

Andrew Johnston

Matt Jones

Russell Knox

Tom Lewis

Wenchong Liang

Shane Lowry

James Morrison

Sebastian Munoz

Thorbjorn Olesen

Sung Joon Park

Matthieu Pavon

Michael Putnam

Richie Ramsay

a-Kristoffer Reitan

Patrick Rodgers

Ollie Schniederjans

Adam Scott

Jason Scrivener

Shubhankar Sharma

Matthew Southgate

Scott Stallings

Steve Stricker

Brian Stuard

a-Braden Thornberry

Harold Varner III

Matt Wallace

Paul Waring

Richy Werenski

Tim Wilkinson

Aaron Wise

a-Chun An Yu

Will Zalatoris

Ryan Evans

Rikuyo Hoshino

Scott Piercy

Ted Potter Jr.


Local and sectional qualifying:

Christopher Babcock

Michael Block

a-Mickey DeMorat

a-Luis Gagne

David Gazzolo

a-Will Grimmer

Michael Hebert

Calum Hill

a-Franklin Huang

a-Ryan Lumsden

Dylan Meyer

a-Cole Miller

Mike Miller

Chris Naegel

a-Garrett Rank

a-Rhett Rasmussen

a-Sulman Raza

a-Tyler Strafaci

Cameron Wilson

a-Timothy Wiseman

Sebastian Vazquez


Special exemptions:

Ernie Els

Jim Furyk


Recent Posts