Sign up to receive our free weekly digital magazine!


NEWS: Thornberry Wins Mark H. McCormack Medal As Top Amateur

Braden Thornberry, the 21-year-old star from Ole Miss, won the Mark H. McCormack Medal as the world’s top amateur to earn exemptions into next year’s Open Championship and U.S. Open given that he does not turn professional.

Thornberry has enjoyed individual success with a school record 11 wins at Ole Miss and has also been victorious in team competitions like the 2017 Walker Cup and this year’s Palmer Cup.

“This is a prestigious award and I am honored to be among the group of past recipients,” Thornberry said. “There are many people who have made this possible along the way and I am grateful to everyone. I am really excited about my future in the game of golf and I hope to keep representing my country, my state and the University of Mississippi in the best way possible.”

Thornberry won the 2017 NCAA Championship and has proven himself in professional tournaments like the FedEx St. Jude Classic in 2017 where he finished in the top five.

“On behalf of the USGA, I wish to extend our congratulations to Braden Thornberry on being awarded the McCormack Medal,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director of championships.

“Braden has had a fine college career, as evidenced by his 2017 NCAA championship, and he has represented the USA with distinction in international competition, including his role on the victorious 2017 USA Walker Cup Team in Los Angeles.”

Past Winners:

2017 Joaquin Niemann (CHI)

2016 Maverick McNealy (USA)

2015 Jon Rahm (ESP)

2014 Ollie Schniederjans (USA)

2013 Matthew Fitzpatrick (ENG)

2012 Chris Williams (USA)

2011 Patrick Cantlay (USA)

2010 Peter Uihlein (USA)

2009 Nick Taylor (CAN)

2008 Danny Lee (NZL)

2007 Colt Knost (USA)


Recent Posts