Posts tagged with: "Lexi Thompson" - Page 2

NEWS: Immediate Rules Change Limits Video Review View More
Television replays played a role in recent women's majors, affecting Lexi Thompson (left) and Anna Nordqvist. A rules change will make this less likely moving forward.

NEWS: Immediate Rules Change Limits Video Review

Today, with what only can be called lightning speed, the USGA and R&A changed the Rules of Golf by enacting a decision intended to limit the use of video review and, the game’s governing bodies hope, stem the tide of rulings prompted by viewers calling in infractions. The change goes…

NEWS: Mickelson Says Some Tour Players ‘Loose’ With How They Mark Ball

NEWS: Mickelson Says Some Tour Players ‘Loose’ With How They Mark Ball

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA – Leave it to Phil Mickelson to have a strong opinion on the Lexi Thompson/ball marking controversy. Even if he didn’t want to get into the specifics of what happened, Mickelson offered this perspective: “So rather than address that specific instance, what I would say is this: I…

OPINION: Golf’s Leaders Must Take Stand On TV Call-Ins View More
April 2, 2017; Rancho Mirage, CA, USA; Lexi Thompson hits from the fifth course tee box during the final round of the ANA Inspiration golf tournament at Mission Hills CC - Dinah Shore Tournament Cou. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

OPINION: Golf’s Leaders Must Take Stand On TV Call-Ins

Maybe the adage “there’s no such thing as bad publicity” is true after all. The LPGA hasn’t gotten this much coverage in, well, ever. ESPN was all over the Lexi Thompson rules story on the same day as the NCAA men’s basketball final, while Mike Golic and Mike Greenberg spent…

News: Players Sound Off On Thompson Controversy

News: Players Sound Off On Thompson Controversy

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA — Since everyone seems to be on the subject of the four penalty strokes given to Lexi Thompson on Sunday at the ANA Inspiration as a result of a viewer’s e-mail, Justin Thomas would like to make a phone call. He’s still not happy about the play the Clemson…

QUICK TAKE: Ryu Wins ANA Inspiration In Controversial Finish View More
Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

QUICK TAKE: Ryu Wins ANA Inspiration In Controversial Finish

  It was expected to be another quiet finish on the LPGA this week with Lexi Thompson retaining her two-shot lead for most of the front nine of the ANA Inspiration in Rancho Mirage, Calif. But a TV viewer intervened by e-mailing in a rules infraction Thompson had committed during…

QUICK TAKE: Lexi Thompson Assessed Bizarre Four-Stroke Penalty, Social Media Explodes View More
Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

QUICK TAKE: Lexi Thompson Assessed Bizarre Four-Stroke Penalty, Social Media Explodes

Lexi Thompson was leading the ANA Inspiration by two strokes. And then she wasn’t. In a strange series of events, Thompson was assessed a four-stroke penalty on the 12th hole Sunday due to a viewer calling in an infraction that occurred during the third round. Thompson was deemed to have…