Rules, rules, rules.
This is the year that the game’s rules were supposedly simplified – and they were – but that hasn’t prevented rules issues from intruding on tournament golf in recent weeks.
Photo: Courtesy of USGA Museum
Kendall Dye and Dewi Weber were involved in a rules issue at LPGA Q-Series when Dye signaled Weber’s caddie to ask what club Weber was using on a par-3. The caddie signaled back and, after both players were later assessed two-stroke penalties for violating Rule 10-2, which prohibits players from offering or soliciting advice during a round, Dye admitted she did not know her actions were against the rules.
At the Senior LPGA Championship, Lee Ann Walker was penalized 58 strokes after she discovered it was against the revised rules to have her caddie help her with her putting alignment during competition, a mistake she made 29 times by her count during the tournament.
So much for social media keeping everyone updated on everything.
At the PGA Tour Champions’ Invesco QQQ Championsh...
Get access to this article and all the quality, in-depth journalism of Global Golf Post Plus.
or Log In